Notgames Forum
March 29, 2024, 01:37:57 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I say Hello!  (Read 11421 times)
Måns

View Profile WWW
« on: March 23, 2010, 11:51:11 PM »

Hello! (You never guessed I would open with that phrase, did you?)

My name is Måns Billing and I'm currently studying Game Design in Sweden. I began my education about half a year ago and I'm still struggling with the diffrent programs (Game Maker, Flash and Unity). These six months have been extremly interesting when I think of them from a "Notgame perspective". As I made my first games they were often very traditional. I was caught in the idea of games and what games are all about:

You have to include gameplay. Otherwise people wonder why you don't "make a film".
Games have to be games. They have to have rules. You must be able to win or lose. There must be score. Player skill must be involved.

Sure, all of this can be interesting but at the same time it's so very limiting. There is so much to explore when it comes to games/notgames/interactive entertainment. To me, the most important thing is the experience that I try to create. If that means making a "game" in which the player presses two buttons every hour or a full scale gameplay-game doesn't really matter.

I must also say that Fatale:Exploring Salome was an experience that changed the concept of games for me. I think that it was a sort catalyst that helped me focus my thoughts on games and what it really is all about (the experience).

You can find my homepage here: http://www.mansbilling.com/