Notgames Forum
April 26, 2024, 03:24:28 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Isn't it funny how most of the topic titles here start with an 'H'?  (Read 8039 times)
Chris Platzer

View Profile
« on: February 07, 2011, 09:37:31 PM »

Hi,

My name is Chris Platzer. I am a professional software developer who likes to dabble with art.

I've always been fascinated by computer games. Even though I never really liked the game-like things about them - the part where you have to master a skill in order to proceed. I enjoyed toying with an interactive system far mor, exploring and breathing in the atmosphere.

I'm tired of games that are about confrontation, about defeating your opponents, about struggle to power, about mastering skills and leveling up. I'm tired of games that use addiction to keep people playing.

I want to create something positive. Something beautiful. Something that gives people time and space to reflect, to explore their own mind. Something that makes people experience genuine emotions, something that changes them, that affects them.

That is what I want to do. I don't care whether you call that "art" or "game" or "notgame" or whatever.
I believe the digital medium can be used to do that sort of thing.

From what I understand, notgames revolves around similar ideas. If nothing else, there are a lot of people on this forum who made things that deeply touched me. Things that strike me as a proof that that sort of thing I want to do is indeed possible. I hope that being part of this community will help me grow artistically. And maybe at some point I will have something useful to contribute myself.