Notgames Forum
March 28, 2024, 02:14:40 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hello ngf  (Read 11496 times)
dkanaga

View Profile WWW
« on: June 13, 2010, 01:36:20 AM »

Hi,

My name is David Kanaga; I'm a musician and a beginner/amateur interaction designer/programmer. I'm really excited to have found this site (via edclef, whose project I'm working on), being a fan of notgames (specifically those with some musical component) myself.

Anyway, here's some applicable things I've done:

Website: http://www.davidkanaga.com (updated less regularly)
Music Blog: http://davidkanaga.blogspot.com (updated more regularly)

All of my music is released under a cc-by-nc-sa license, so if think it's appropriate, feel free to use it in any projects that use that same license Smiley

Undergraduate Thesis, "Time Structures in Interactive Media: Videogames as Musical Objects": http://www.davidkanaga.com/miscmusic/time_structures_thesis.pdf

This is a paper that I wrote about half a year ago, exploring the idea of videogames as a kind of musical play (even without the sound!)

And, finally, the one finished nongame (or game, for that matter) that I've worked on (with Josh Bothun, minornine.com): Ada (http://www.minornine.com/ada)

It's similar in form to Electroplankton, a sort of "album" of musical play-spaces, but perhaps more fiery/mysterious at times Wink Give it some time to start up--sometimes it takes the sound engine about a minute to load Tongue

I'd love to hear what you think of any of my projects! Looking forward to reading some threads here...

Michaël Samyn

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2010, 09:57:04 AM »

Welcome!

Ada is quite nice! (if a bit buggy)