Notgames Forum
April 19, 2024, 12:17:48 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hello from Jeroen D. Stout  (Read 6574 times)
Jeroen D. Stout

View Profile WWW
« on: January 23, 2010, 02:16:38 PM »

Hello all,

I have been (kindly) invited to join this forum by Dan (chineseroom). I am currently doing a MSc under his supervision. I finished an MA degree at the Utrecht School of Arts (Hogeschool van de Kunsten Utrecht - HKU) last year. During my four years of game-education I have developed a taste for more 'artistic games'. There were a few 'interesting' games, such as Beyond Good & Evil, that kept me going whilst teachers raised their eyebrows over my 'quality game' hopes. However, it was not until The Graveyard that something really hit me about what games as a medium can do and how the largest problem is not the constraints of the medium itself but the expectations of the medium. I think it changed me so irrevocably I cannot think back to those days and imagine not being aware of it. As far as artistic indembtment goes, this is quite it.