Notgames Forum
March 29, 2024, 09:51:07 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Another Hi from France  (Read 8765 times)
Pierrec

View Profile WWW
« on: March 25, 2010, 07:24:56 PM »

(As you can undestand in the title, I'm french, and if I'm good at reading english [so i can understand you] I'm not good at writing...so, my apologies.)

I juste discovered this forum, and what i red amazed me. I love your way of thinking guys.
Although, i'm not sure to have really understood what is a "Notgame" even after reading your manifesto and some topics on the subject. (I'll be back ok that)

Just to present myself : I'm Pierre, i'm not a game designer like moste of you, but un web-journalist student interested in video games.
I have a blog, which is called Oujevipo. You can see it here : http://oujevipo.over-blog.fr/ , but it's all in french so i'm not sure you'll be interested.

Anyway : The title Oujevipo is an acronym for "Ouvroir de Jeux Video Potentiel" or something about exploring the potentiality of video game média. It was inspired by the Oulipo, a french litterature movement who explores the potentiality of litterature (writing a book without the letter E ect...), there were some english writers too (Harry Matheww for exemple)

If a Notgame is a "game" (sorry, my english is too bad to find another word) not answering to the game definitions (wins and losses, interactivity...) that's what i call an oujevipian game, and I love it.

So if you don't mind, i think i'll stay, maybe silently to not hurt your eyes, a bit in this forum to see what you think and what you do.
Maybe you'll find some interesting stuff on my blog. [Edit : I think there is some of yours productions in it)
I'm sure I'll find some interesting stuff in here.
Michaël Samyn

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 10:56:58 PM »

Welcome, Pierrec!